

#### Report of 3<sup>rd</sup> Workshop on Ethics and GCP

The Institutional Ethics Committee – Human Research and Medical Education Unit, UCMS, jointly organized a workshop on 30<sup>th</sup> January 2018 in UCMS. The Workshop was titled "3<sup>rd</sup> Workshop on ETHICS and GCP (Evaluation and Training in Human research for Institutional Committees' Standardization and Good Clinical Practices). The workshop was organized in the Committee Room of College Building, First Floor.

The objectives of this workshop were:

- To strengthen and empower the Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) members to ensure that they understand scientific, regulatory norms, ethical design, conduct and reporting of clinical research that will be of uniform nature and meets national and international quality standards
- To identify, discuss and resolve ethical issues during the process of review
- To review latest guidelines in Biomedical ethics

The participants of this workshop included the members of the IEC-HR, UCMS and also few faculty members of UCMS. The list is as follows:

Physiology	1. Dr. Farah Khaliq
Anesthesia	2. Dr. Geetanjali Chilkoti
Microbiology	3. Dr. Shukla Das
	4. Dr. Rumpa Saha
Pathology	5. Dr. Mrinalini Kotru
Pharmacology	6. Dr. Seema Jain
Medicine	7. Dr. Amitesh Aggarwal
	8. Dr. Shiva Narang
	9. Dr. Alpana Raizada
General Surgery	10. Dr. Naveen Sharma
Obstetrics & Gynecology	11. Dr. Bindiya Gupta
	12. Dr. Rachna Aggarwal
	13. Dr. Shruti
Pediatrics	14. Dr. Piyush Gupta
Orthopedics	15. Dr. Rehan-ul-Haq
Community Medicine	16. Dr Khan Amir Maroof
	17. Dr Pragati Chhabra
Dermatology	18. Dr Chander Grover



IEC-HR Members	19. Dr. Nalin Mehta
	20. Dr. Arun Gupta (General Surgery)
	21. Dr. Arun Sharma (Community Medicine)
	22. Dr. Dheeraj Shah (Pediatrics)
	23. Dr. Rafat Ahmed Nizam (Biochemistry)
	24. Dr. Rachna Gupta (Pharmacology)
	25. Dr. Vijay Tankha
	26. Ms. Rashmi Virmani
	27. Ms. Sona Khan
	28. Mr. Sanjay Sharma
	29. Dr. Ravinder Mohan
	30. Dr. Pooja Dewan (Pediatrics)

The program of this workshop was as follows:

Time	Торіс	Speaker	
09:00 am	Introduction: Need for Ethics Guidelines	Prof. VP Gupta (UCMS)	
09:15 am	ICMR National Ethical Guidelines - Overview of Revised Ethical Guidelines - 2017	Prof. Nalin Mehta (AIIMS)	
09:30 am	Ethics Committees and Ethics Review Procedures, SOPs	Prof. Pooja Dewan (UCMS)	
10:15 am	Good Clinical Practices	Prof. Dheeraj Shah (UCMS)	
10:45 am	Теа		
11:15 am	Regulatory and Academic Clinical Trials	Dr. Ashish Goel (UCMS)	
12:00 pm	Informed Consent Process - Consent, Assent, Electronic consent, Waiver, Re-consent, Special Situations & Patient Information Sheet	Prof. Pooja Dewan (UCMS)	
1:00 pm	Lunch		
02:00 pm	Research involving Children; Vulnerable Groups	Dr. Suvasini Sharma (LHMC)	
2:30 pm	Stored samples, Biobanking, logical Materials, Biobanking and Sharing of Data	Prof. Mrinalini Kotru (UCMS)	
3:00 pm	Publication Ethics – Fabrication, Falsification and Plagiarism	Prof. Piyush Gupta (UCMS)	



3:30 pm	General Ethical Issues – Risk- Benefit Analysis, Conflict of Interest, Compensation etc.	Prof. Nalin Mehta (AIIMS)
4:15 pm	Open house & Valediction	

There was a felt need to organize another workshop shortly for other interested faculty members from the college who could not be accommodated in the workshop this time. The certificates were given by Prof. V.P. Gupta (Principal, UCMS) and Prof. Nalin Mehta (Chairman IEC-HR, UCMS). The workshop ended with thanks to Prof. VP Gupta (Principal, UCMS) Prof. Nalin Mehta (Chairman, IEC-HR, UCMS) and Prof. Piyush Gupta (In-charge, MEU, UCMS).

Dr. Pooja Dewan Member-Secretary, IEC-HR, UCMS Dr. Khan Amir Maroof Co-ordinator, MEU, UCMS

Encl: Photographs of the Workshop













